Springdale National School have a very vibrant and committed Parent Teacher Association (PTA). Our PTA is made up of parents & guardians at the school and is formed each year at the Autumn term PTA AGM from parent volunteers.

The Parents’ Committee is a voluntary body and relies heavily upon the commitment of its members and the support of the wider parent body and school management to contribute to improving the educational experience of all the children at Springdale National School. New members are warmly welcomed at the AGM, to bring fresh energy and new ideas to the committee.

Our PTA Committee works in collaboration with the school management to:

Promote the interests of all the students
Enhance the learning environment
Raise funds for, and contribute to, school initiatives and activities
Support community events involving the school and parents


Over the last 18 months or so the Parents’ Committee has organized the following fundraising events

  • Sponsored fancy dress walk
  • Christmas Raffle
  • Handbags and Gladrags evening
  • Come Dine with Me program
  • Easter Raffle
  • Bag Packs in SuperValu
  • Tesco Community Support Fund


Because of these events and your valued support the PTA have contributed to or fully funded the following initiatives

  • The new playground games
  • Wriggle cushions
  • Computer coding and animation classes for all classes
  • Art Supplies for all classes
  • Helped Santa with his visit to Springdale School and distributing his presents to the Junior Classes
  • Internet Safety talks for the children and parents
  • Sixth class end of year trip
  • Window Blinds

If you would like to find out more about the work of the PTA or have an idea for fundraising just talk to one of our committee.

The 2019-2020 committee:

Name Role Children in
Marie Smietan           Chairperson        1st & 4th Class
Lar Duffy Secretary SI & 4th Class
Sandra Reynolds Treasurer 5th Class
Lesley Cahill Principal
Kate Hogan Teacher Rep
Emma Ryan
SI & 4th Class
Oonagh Meighan JI  
Lisa Rafferty JI
Raquel Neves 6th Class
Dave McMahon 5th Class
Pauline O’Donnell 5th Class
Fergal De Búrca 1st Class
Ciara Graham 5th Class
Greg Corcoran SI
Ruth Crawte 5th Class